Local Promotions and Local People

TSW3

Normally, I’m on here writing about the latest crazy thing happening in WWE. I really should cover other promotions more often, but I just now found a way to watch Lucha Underground, so I’m playing catch up; and I’m still searching for a way to watch TNA since I’m poor and can’t afford the massive cable package it would require to get Pop TV.

But today is different. Today, I chose to write about something that I recently discovered that has become near and dear to my heart: local promotions.

I live in a small community. Really small. Seriously, think about oceans of corn. Like many small towns and communities, it’s difficult to find things to do without driving an hour or two – especially when it comes to wrestling. The closest WWE ever comes to me is Evansville, Indiana, and that’s only for Smackdown tapings at best.

WWE Evansville

…And this is the closest I’ll ever get to a WWE ring.

So, you’ll understand my surprise when I was randomly browsing Facebook one day last month and came across a promotional post from a company called Tri-State Wrestling doing a show in my own back yard. That was something I simply could not miss.

TSW8

I also stole their Facebook picture.

I went into this thing not knowing what to expect. I had never been to any kind of independent show – but truthfully, my expectations weren’t high. What I found when I got there was a loyal group of fans, performers who were everyday people that loved to put on a show, and a renewed love for the art of wrestling (please don’t sue me, Colt Cabana.)

Sure, some of the matches and characters were a little hokie. You could tell who had put money and effort into learning the craft and you could tell who was just starting out – but the magic in the entire night was that they were real people doing something they loved. There were some great spots, some excellent moves that would never be allowed in WWE and chants of “D.O.C.” and “Barry Sucks.”

One of the cooler parts about the show was that it was super family-friendly. The wrestlers were awesome with the crowd – especially the kids in attendance.

TSW5

TSW4

TSW2

But I think the most enjoyable thing that I learned is that TSW is a non-profit that raises money for causes at their shows – like Relay for Life, Autism Awareness, and other things like that. Several of the characters broke the 4th wall during an intermission to present that organization with the funds they’d raised. They even had an auction for a photo of one of the more popular performers that brought about $100.

It was a great show all around and I intend to be at their next show in my town on March 19th at the Vincennes, Indiana Eagles. If you’re in the area, you should check them out. Here’s their Facebook page.

If you’re a wrestling fan, it’s important to support local promotions. Nine times out of 10, the people in them are your neighbors and you’d never know it. And the thing is, there are a lot of local promotions out there doing the exact same type of work as TSW. If you’re not a wrestling fan, this is a great place to become one.

10 Count Blog is a community of fans that loves sports entertainment and is constantly looking for writers. Don’t like what I wrote? Let me know in the comments section. Wanna write for us about WWE or another wrestling promotion? Send a submission to 10countblog@gmail.com!

 

Leave a comment